Web Story India
world of stories.


“I have done it again.   

One year in every ten   

I manage it——

A sort of walking miracle, my skin   

Bright as a Nazi lampshade,   

My right foot

A paperweight,

My face a featureless, fine   

Jew linen.”                      

                – excerpt from Lady Lazarus by Sylvia Plath.

Sylvia Plath (October 27, 1932 – February 11, 1963) was an American poet, novelist, and short-story writer. She is credited with advancing the genre of confessional poetry and is best known for two of her published collections, The Colossus and Other Poems (1960) and Ariel (1965), as well as The Bell Jar, a semi-autobiographical novel published shortly before her death in 1963. The Collected Poems were published in 1981, which included previously unpublished works. For this collection Plath was awarded a Pulitzer Prize in Poetry in 1982, making her the fourth to receive this honor posthumously. Plath was clinically depressed for most of her adult life, and was treated multiple times with electroconvulsive therapy (ECT). She killed herself in 1963.

The Sylvia Plath Memorial Literary Prize 2022 is an ode to this profound poet and author and is conferred to writers, poets, authors and literature related works of high quality and standard, after a selection process. The award was hosted by Elite Book Awards along with media partner Digital Golgappa and magazine and event partners Unicorn Magazine, The Update India and Merged Array Magazine. After a thorough selection process by the jury at EBA, 30 best writers/authors were selected to be honoured with the esteemed prize. The list of recipients of the Sylvia Plath Memorial Literary Prize 2022 are- Kirthana Kamalakannan, Sunayana Kayastha, Samata Dey Bose, Indira Guha Patra, Sangeeta Kumari, Meherun Nessa, Nandita Mittal, Cheshta Tuteja, Yashi Lath, Dr.Aswin Shaji, Dr. Romila Chitturi, Soumi Sarkar, Gayatri Sriaadhibhatla, Shishira Srinivasa, Pradeep Kumar Yadav, Yogitha subhash, Neha Sarah, Bandi Niraja, Ankita Bhatia, Shafika Fathima, Dishari Neogy, Trina Kanungo, Kavita Gupta, Dr. Shashwat Johri , Tumula Mani Kota Rajasekhar, Rishu Sharma, Indrani Chowdhury, Sunaina Arora, Dr Charusheela Uttam Lokhande and S.L.Gayathry. All the awardees were conferred with the Sylvia Plath Memorial Literary Prize 2022 trophy and certificate of honour. 

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.